Louise Alder

Samling Artist Programme: 2013

Soprano Louise Alder is a graduate of the Royal College of Music International Opera School where she was the inaugural Kiri Te Kanawa Scholar.  She was awarded 2nd Prize in the 2013 Kathleen Ferrier Competition and is the recipient of Glyndebourne’s 2014 John Christie Award.

She is a member of the Frankfurt Opera Ensemble where her roles this season include Susanna Le nozze di Figaro and the title role in a new production of The Cunning Little Vixen.  Her 2015/16 also includes the title role in L’incoronazione di Poppea with the Academy of Ancient Music and Richard Egarr, her début with Garsington Opera as Ilia in a new production of Idomeneo and her début for the Royal Opera as Euridice in Luigi Rossi’s Orfeo.

She has also sung Lucia The Rape of Lucretia at the Glyndebourne Festival; Gretel Hänsel und Gretel, Silandra in Cesti’s L’Orontea and Musetta La bohème for the Frankfurt Opera; Clomiri Imeneo for the London Handel Festival and Rapunzel Into the Woods for the Théâtre du Châtelet.

Highlights on the concert platform have included Beethoven’s Choral Fantasy at the Edinburgh Festival with the RSNO and Peter Oundjian, Sophie Der Rosenkavalier with the Glyndebourne Festival at the BBC Proms with the London Philharmonic Orchestra and Robin Ticciati, Zelidie in the British premiere of Rameau’s Zaïs with the Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment and Jonathan Williams and Mozart Concert Arias with Classical Opera and Ian Page.  Her performances have also taken her to the Aldeburgh, St Magnus and London Handel Festivals and as far afield as Munich, Budapest and Moscow.

Louise is also a passionate recitalist, appearing at the Musikverein in Graz, the Brighton Festival, the Frankfurt Opera, Birmingham’s Barber Institute, the Elgar Room at the Royal Albert Hall, the Purcell Room at the Southbank Centre, the Crush Bar at the Royal Opera House, the Holywell Music Room in Oxford and in the Perth Concert Hall with pianists Helmut Deutsch, Joseph Middleton, Gary Matthewman, John Paul Ekins and Matthew Fletcher.